• Tour des Poudres

  • Built at the end of the 14th century, it was a powder store

A watchtower, built at the end of the 14th century, it was used to store the ingredients for making gunpowder (sulphur, saltpetre, charcoal).

Completely surrounded by the buildings of the Calvet wine company – now Porte Marie de Bourgogne – only its top can be seen from the Chemin de Ronde, covered by a pointed roof capped by a fleur-de-lys.

In 1754, the nearby Madeleine district was the stage for the fantastic adventure of Louis Mandrin. He was the head of a band of smugglers and gained popular support by opposing the tax collectors (fermiers généraux collecteurs d’impôts or tax farmers-general).

During a raid into Burgundy, he arrived from Corberon with 65 companions on December 18th. At about mid-day he fired on two men-at-arms and opened the gates. He set up his headquarters at the Auberge Sainte Anne de la Petite Notre Dame, in the Madeleine district. After obtaining a ransom of 20,000 pounds from the mayor and compensating the Beaune tavern keepers who had served drinks to his men, he left the city at 4PM.

Louis Mandrin was arrested in Savoy on 11 May 1755 and sentenced to the wheel.

On the Rempart Madeleine, at the foot of the tower, you can see an example of a medieval toilet!

Juxtaposed to the Tour des Poudres, a small tower was added at the beginning of the 20th century.

Discover the charming Rue d'Alsace and its many shops.
Place Carnot and the smaller place Carnot are filled with the terraces of many cafés, brasseries and restaurants.